By Teresa Mull
In a press release, Commissioner Nikki Fried announced the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) would no longer be issuing Concealed Weapons Licenses (CWL) because the FDACS is unable to fingerprint applicants.
The FDACS is responsible for processing applications and issuing Concealed Weapons Licenses throughout the state.
The FDACS press release also announced that expiring licenses would be extended an additional 30 days, but that doesn’t do much for the rights of citizens who do not yet have a CWL.
This announcement comes at a time when gun and ammo sales are skyrocketing across the country as people rush to exercise their Second Amendment rights.
In response to Fried’s announcement, gun rights organizations in Florida are calling for Constitutional Carry, or the right to carry without a government license.
“Florida Gun Rights [FLGR] is calling on Gov. Ron DeSantis to take swift action to suspend the CWL requirement in Florida,” said DJ Parten, Executive Director of FLGR. “Law-abiding citizens should be allowed to defend themselves without first getting a government permission slip, especially in uncertain times like these.”
A Constitutional Carry bill was introduced in Florida for the first time in history this year by State Rep. Anthony Sabatini, but it died in the Republican-controlled legislature without so much as a hearing.
The fact that government has control over a constitutional right means they can restrict that right whenever they see fit.
Clearly, Florida needs to do something to restore the rights of law-abiding citizens.
Commissioner Fried, the only statewide elected Democrat, has also called on the governor to issue a “Stay at Home” order.
The National Association for Gun Rights issued the following message to supporters, urging them to demand Constitutional Carry:
Anyone who does not already have their government permission slip could be left defenseless during this time of national unrest.
But under the new policy, it could be months before law-abiding citizens can get their government permission slip.
If someone chooses to exercise their Second Amendment rights without first getting a CWL, they could be charged with a felony, spend five years in prison, pay a $5000 fine, and lose their gun rights altogether!
Teresa Mull is editor of Gunpowder Magazine. Contact her at firstname.lastname@example.org.